Still

hillsong – still

 Psalm 91 4-7

It is so easy to withdraw from our friends, family, work, and even church when we feel discouraged or depressed. We want to hide our emotions and barricade our sorrows. How easy it is to go back to bed and pull the covers up over our heads!

We are typically taught by our society that we should not hide from the world — especially in such trying times. (Dr. Phil or Jerry Springer, anyone?)

Yet, here is God offering us shelter and a place to hide!

Take an even closer look, and note that it is under God’s wings where we will discover protection and courage.

Reading this Psalm brings the lyrics for Still, one of our worship songs, to mind:

Hide me now under Your wings
Cover me within Your mighty hands
When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm.
Lord, You are the King over the flood.
I will be still and know You’re God.

Are you looking for comfort? Searching for strength? Retreat to the wings of God where you will unconditionally find love, grace, forgiveness, and peace.

Thought for the day: Quiet yourself to receive God’s nurture and protection in your storm.

9 thoughts on “Still

  1. Oh I love those verses, Jesus is everything to me, He’s like the rock that I cling to when times are tough. btw I came here through dishywinnie’s blog, hope you don’t mind me commenting 🙂

  2. hey Paulette, I’m also at tudorhouse.wordpress.com, it’s my Christian blog where as the one at Petticoat Lane is my retro one, thanks for commenting though 🙂

  3. That really touched me. I’ve been feeling really low and despondant and had decided I couldn’t face church this morning. But I will go.

  4. Hello! I found you ‘surfing’ wordpress blogs and your page is very soothing and uplifting. Praise God. I’ll be back (o: again!

  5. Oh yeah…you can’t get to my page clicking on my username (ick). I came back to wordpress after a couple of months and I HAD to keep the same username, it seems. Now, however, wordpress doesn’t ‘recognize’ me. http://gibsongirltimes.wordpress.com is my new home! (groan!LOL!)

  6. I find it hard to hide with God – I’m usually always forcing myself to get out there and do it. Maybe I should take some time out for myself and Him more often, but with so much going on it’s hard to do…:( Hugs M x x

  7. The song you posted on Mag’s blog (in your presense) is such a blessing. I am beginning to feel that God has brought you into my life for a purpose. I am listening to it over and over

  8. That comment Hannah made a REAL difference in my life today…(( Thank you so much )) your honesty and openness to God will bring you abundance of blessings and answers to your prayers…

Leave a Reply

